Council for Medical Education and Testing (CMET) - Physician Wound Care Certification Exam

The Council for Medical Education and Testing (CMET) is a non-profit organization providing physician specific certification for the Physician Specialist in Wound Care. CMET is the only physician specific organization in wound care and its sole purpose is to serve as a certifying agency.

The current examination format is 150 question multiple choice. The fee to register and sit for the examination is currently $850.00. There is no dues requirement for the CMET following the successful completion of the examination. The certification duration is 7-years, after which a recertification process is available.

Subject areas include:

  • Diagnosis and Management of:
  • Diabetic Ulcers
  • Venous Ulcers
  • Pressure Ulcers
  • Ischemic Ulcers
  • A-Typical Skin Lesions
  • Histology of Wound Healing
  • Infection
  • Internal Medicine: Diabetes and other disease entities that can impact wound healing

Fewer number of questions are found in the following subject areas:

  • Documentation
  • Medical / Legal Aspects
  • Burns
Phone number: