Elizabeth A. Ayello

Ayello, Harris and Associates

Elizabeth A. Ayello is president of Ayello, Harris and Associates, Co-Editor in Chief for the international, interdisciplinary journal, Advances in Skin and Wound Care and Editorial Board member for the journal, Nursing. She is a faculty emerita at Excelsior College School of Nursing, Albany New York, a faculty member at the International Interprofessional Wound Care Course (IIWCC) conducted by the University of Toronto, in Toronto, Canada and Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates , founder and Course Director of WoundPEDIA™ in Manila, Senior Adviser at the John A. Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, New York, New York, the 2018-2022 President of the World Council of Enterostomal Therapists (WCET®), Executive Editor Emeritus of the WCET® Journal where she was instrumental in achieving the publication into 4 languages other than English (Chinese, French, Portuguese, Spanish) and International Liaison Committee member for the World Union of Wound Healing Societies (WUWHS). Under her leadership as President, in February 2021, WCET® received the gold medal from WUWHS/JWC award for the most progressive society.

Dr. Ayello has served in many leadership positions in several wound care organizations including Board of Directors and 1999 President of the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel (NPIAP; formerly NPUAP) , the Board of Directors for the American Professional Wound Care Association (APWCA), Chair WOCN Accreditation Committee and the International Planning Committee and Congress co-Chair for the World Union of Wound Healing Societies (WUWHS) 2008 Congress in Toronto. She was one of two nurses nationally who served on the CMS panel that revised the guidance for surveyors on F Tag 314 on pressure ulcers and worked with CMS to develop the educational materials for MDS 3.0 section M Skin conditions as well as delivered the educational programs at their national programs in long-term care, LTCH and inpatient rehabilitation settings. Her research focuses on wound care, pressure injuries, MDRPI, early detection of foot ulcerations and infection in persons with diabetes mellitus, skincare, ostomy care guidelines and nursing education.

She was the Chairperson for the New Jersey Hospital Association collaborative that decreased pressure injury incidence among its partners by 70% across care settings. Dr. Ayello is co-author/editor of the books, Wound Care Essentials: Practice Principles (5th Edition June 2020) ( which took first place for 2020 AJN awards for Med-Surg Books and 2nd place for Advance Practice Nurses). Other publications include the Pocket Guide to Pressure Ulcers (4th Edition), co-editor/author of two ostomy books, WCET® Ostomy Pocket Guide- Stoma and Peristomal Problem Solving and WCET® Guide to Stoma Site Marking as well as the WCET® International Ostomy Guideline (2nd edition) 2020. For her sustained contributions to the world of skin and wound care, she is the recipient of numerous awards including the 2007 NPUAP Kosiak Award, 2008 John Boswick Memorial Award, Masters designation by the APWCA, the 2010 Sharon Baranoski Founders Award, 1989 first New York State Nurse of Distinction Award and the 2018 Hunter College Lifetime Professional Achievement Award.